About RMHA

Our Mission

The Russell Minor Hockey Association is a non-profit, volunteer, co-ed organization, whose sole purpose is to provide participants aged 4-21 an opportunity to have fun and play organized hockey in a positive atmosphere.  The RMHA strives to respect and support each player’s aspirations and skill level within the confines of a team sport.

Organized team sports provide an excellent opportunity for our children to develop skills which will benefit them throughout their lives; commitment, teamwork, self-discipline, fair play, responsibility and responsibility.

Rep B, Rep A / AA and Rep AAA tryout opportunities are available to our members as well through our district and zone based boundaries and association partnerships.


Community volunteers in Russell Minor Hockey are tremendously important. They bring together our youth in a safe and encouraging atmosphere to fulfil goals and educate on team building and respect.

The Russell Minor Hockey Association (RMHA) sponsors a Volunteer Appreciation Award named after Peter Kruys, the incredible example of a dedicated, and long standing volunteer and Coach. This award is to be presented yearly to an outstanding member of our hockey community who has demonstrated great leadership in hockey and has been a positive role model for our youth. This annual award is proudly displayed at the Russell Arena. This award is open to past and present RMHA volunteers.

Any member of Russell Minor Hockey Association (RMHA) is eligible for consideration if the following are also met:

  • volunteered with RMHA for a number of years
  • held a position of coach, assistant, manager, trainer, tournament organizer, RMHA executive member, team volunteer, etc.
  • held in high regard in the hockey community
  • has consistently displayed high morals
  • has proven to be a valuable volunteer in the hockey community
  • has encouraged respect for fellow team members and of opposing team players
  • maintains that hockey is a great game and hockey is about having fun

Award Recipients
2008/09 Season : Peggy Marchessault & Bob Spence
2009/10 Season : Shannon Donovan
2010/11 Season : David Laramee & David Kemp
2012/13 Season : Jeanne Clement
2013/14 Season : Paul Cooke
2014/15 Season : Peggy Carkner & Shelley Nolan
2015/16 Season : Ed Thomas
2016/17 Season : Renee Harden
2017/18 Season : Darren Pascoe
2018/19 Season : David Smith